TUTORIAL: QUICK BRINGALONG GIFT

Tomato Spice

Tutorial:Tomato spice

We were invited to a birthday few days ago and I wanted something homemade to “accompany” the real present, because it was in an envelope and looked so tiny and shy. So I had a look in the internet and found some nice handmade recipes – BUT I didn’t have all the ingredients like always. So I decided to create my own recipe to make a tomato spice (the name is misleading, because there isn´t any tomato or tomato flavour inside, but a lot of nice spices to accompany dishes which DO have tomatoes inside).

 Here’s my recipe:

  • 80 gr. Salt (I used ground sea salt)
  • ½ teaspoon paprika (I had the rest of a bottle of paprika from Germany)
  • 2 teaspoons basil
  • 2½ teaspoons Oregano (but I really like Oregano)
  • ½ teaspoon brown sugar – I only had brown sugar, I think the white crystal sugar will probably taste even better).

I put everything in a mortar and mixed it while I ground the salt. Afterwards, I put the powder into a nice jar and wrote the name of the spice in German on it. I then wrote the ingredients on a brown luggage tag, which I put on the jar – and my little extra gift was finished. The good thing with this recipe is that you can change the amount of every ingredient to suit your taste or add other spices, like chili – or why not chocolate pieces (read that chili, salt and dark chocolate should be a really good spice for a chili con carne)?

Bon appétit!

One thought on “TUTORIAL: QUICK BRINGALONG GIFT

  1. Pingback: DAY 3 | work in progress

Leave a Reply

