DIY: 50 YEARS OF THE DOCTOR

ADVENT CALENDAR

The Doctor1

This year is the 50th anniversary of Doctor Who. Have you thought about celebrating this with something special? Can you hear the drums? A real geek would now say that the drums have the same rhythm as the heartbeats in the Master’s head.

Tada- here is my idea: a doctor who advents calendar – right on time.

Have you already thought about making your loved ones an advent calendar? I think it’s a great idea to create something for a special person. I haven’t finished the one for my fiancé yet, but it doesn’t matter because I do not want to show the new one (not really spectacular, more a bit boring – the calendar not the fiancé –  in comparison with the last one).

But I want to share with you as an idea the calendar from last year – because this year would be the perfect opportunity to make something like this and to have a lovely Doctor Who Christmas decoration.

I decided to create a calendar with all the 11 doctors – yes, I know eleven isn’t enough for a calendar, so I made also some Tardises, two weeping angels, two Cybermen and 1 Dalek nobody likes the Daleks. Before I show you the pictures I will briefly explain what I have done. I found a picture of wee Doctor Who paper dolls in the internet (here) and fell in love. So I decided to create my own ones in my preferred size, so that I could put some smaller items inside the bodies. I used a lot of things like sweeties and gimmicks and only if the items were too big, I put a little paper with a number inside, so that my fiancé would know where to find his ‘presents’. Every doll has a little paper in his hands to show the advent calendar number. The Tardises were 2-dimensional and had inside things like vouchers, poems, etc.

Voilà the pictures and I hope they inspire you.

Here some ideas for items in an advent calendar.

  • Different teabags with some great flavours – as a nice change from normal English breakfast tea, why not try some Chai tea?
  • lottery scratch card
  • Sweeties
  • Poems
  • Each day a part of a story
  • Funny gimmicks like this one
  • Gift coupon (breakfast – why not in bed; wash the dishes; excursion ;…)
  • A box of microwave popcorn for a lovely cinema evening at home
  • A self-made CD with songs
  • Nice picture (photo)
  • Book mark
  • Postcards funny or philosophical
  • Small bath pearls
  •  … much much more

Have you made an advent calendar this year, or will you buy one?

Leave a Reply

